Urgent Questions for a Deck Structural Expert or Person in the Know

Reaction score
I'm not an EXPERT but do have good knowledge of building codes (I am a General Contractor and drafter - draw blueprints) ... What is your question with decks?

Reaction score
Generally, treated lumber 2X6's make up the frame, 2X12's if you want extra strength. I'd place the joists every 18" and use the proper screws that are special for treated lumber, it can eat regular screws. I just put my framework on blocks and use a shingle as a shim to make it level, the sheer weight of it will hold it in place. I'm sure theres tons of info on the net.

Reaction score
Wow, I guess codes can REALLY vary. I was expecting some differences throughout different areas, but the building inspector here would NEVER allow 2x6s, PT or not ... joist hangers 12" on center too ... we are also required to use nothing less than a 10" wide, by 4' deep footing ...

Reaction score
Haro hit the nail on the head (sorry about the pun). If you are concerned about the structural integrity of your deck, get it inspected by a professional that knows local building standards.

As part of my purchasing due diligence, I personally view the property file prior to going “unconditional” (the point of no return here in NZ). More often than not most purchases are straight forward but if there are unpermitted structures or “blemishes” that need correcting, it is reflected in my final purchase price.

Reaction score
Desoto, Texas (Dallas County) North Texas, Zone 8a
Showcase(s):
Seems as though I have troddened into the world of Big Brother's code compliance. Since my endeavor originates from the "flying by the seat of your pants" rebellious DIY zone it is surely prudent that I not seek unsanctioned counsel. Thanks to one and all for responding.

HARO

Pondcrastinator
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
Canada