UV filter question

Reaction score
Country
United States
I am a real novice here and know very little about my pond that we Inherited when we moved into our new house. On another thread I posted about our tragedy of all of our beautiful fish dying after having the pond pressure cleaned. Since then - 2weeks ago- we've had the pond completely drained again, new water and after a day or so 6 small koi. The UV filter has been off the entire time we've been struggling with getting the water balanced but we've been feeling like we are getting there. My pond is about 1000 gallons, has a waterfall, water lily, iris and one other water plant that I have no clue what it is but I've been told that it's good. I'm in South Florida so summer is lots of heat and rain. We have decent tree cover but the fish do stay in their den under the lilies all day till about twilight. Now that we have the water pretty good they are out at night looking like they're having fun. Been feeding small amounts - the biggest fish is maybe 10/12", the smallest about 4 - and we getting green algae on the rocks and waterfall again as well as String algae on the Waterfall. The pond people, who cleaned the pond and managed to kill my original fish, have me adding bacteria everyday, very small amount. However last night we did a test strip which said nitrates were high and the water did feel warmer. My question is when do we turn the UV filter back on and can I put too much bacteria in? The pH level did change - lower. - small amount but ammonia is 0. Thanks for your help!

Reaction score