UVC PLS bulb for pond filter iisue

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
im new to this so hope I’ve posted in the right place.
I have filter and uv combined unit. The bulbs only seem to last two months. I have changed the ballast and it still keeps happening. I have checked o rings are not perished, checked the quartz sleeve has no cracks and I leave on continuously . I’m struggling to know why the bulbs don’t last a year.
when changing the bulbs there are black burnt type markings on the glass, in the glass of the bulb near the pins.
hope someone can help.
thanks

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hello and welcome!

Sorry, I can’t help you, but there are lots of great minds here (I’m just not one of them ;) )

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
1659032835373.gif
@Bonkers
No UV in my pond.

mrsclem

mrsclem
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
If the bulbs are going bad that fast and with the black it sounds like a short somewhere. Or it could also be that the bulbs are not the right one for the unit.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks for your reply, I have checked the lead and connection to transformer, will obviously check the ballast again today.

ifthe flow rate drops due to filter clogging up or the pump not able to send as much water into the unit cause a short in the bulb?

mrsclem

mrsclem
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Is the replacement bulb the same wattage as the origional? The filter clogging shouldn't cause the bulb to burn out and water flow would not cause it. Is the outlet where you have it plugged in a GFI? Is there anything else plugged into it?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom