venturi for 5 gal skippy filter

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
IDK, but what size is your pond, and 5 gal doesn't sound large enough for a Skippy. Did you post the size correctly?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
I am new to all this so hope I am not being too stupid. My pond is 125 gal. I have two 250 gph pumps running. They are each attatched to 5 gal buckets that I turned into skippy filters. They then run back into pond by a waterfall.

Last edited by a moderator:

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
I am new to all this so hope I am not being too stupid. My pond is 125 gal. I have two 250 gph pumps running. They are each attatched to 5 gal buckets that I turned into skippy filters. They then run back into pond by a waterfall.i am
That sounds like a lot of pump for 125 gal. too much for a filter, esp for a filter that small. And I can't see 5 gal buckets taking that flow rate. A Home Depot bucket is 5 gallons.

Can you post some pictures?

With a Skippy- type filter you need some "dwell-time." Sounds like yours is moving too much water, too fast. Pictures might help, because your set-up might be something different from what you're calling it and we might be simply miscommunicating.

Oh, and welcome to the group!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States