wanting to say Hi from Jacksonville

Reaction score
Well obviously I am new here and would like to set up a little pond in my back yard. Here is a little info on me. I have been keeping reeftanks for about 5 years now and love the hobby. I bought my house back in 08 and it had a above ground pool in the back yard. After about a year no one swam in it no more so I decided to get rid of it so I would not have to keep up a pool nobody enjoyed. Well its been a couple years and not even a blade of grass has grown where the pool was. So I have decided to do something and a pond would be a nice touch with a nice water fall. I just sold my 180 gallon reef tank had bought a 92 gallon reef tank and to hold all my livestock I picked up one of those 160 gallon kidney shaped ponds from a friend who had it in there yard just laid up against a fence. I have put it in the ground out there up next to where a power to run the pool was. I think that will be a decent sized pond could go a little bigger but thats what I got to start with and see what I want to do. I am currently looking for ideas for my water fall/filtration. I am DIY ll the way as I have been on my reef tanks. I was thinking of using 2 mag 18 pumps for the pond to the water fall and making 2 filters on each side out of tub. connecting them together with some PVC and cutting a slit in the pvc to start the water fall. I was thinking of having it drain into a smaller pond for vegetation then overflowing that back into the main pond. Thinking of making the basic structure of the waterfall out of milk crates and buying so nice rocks to hide the crates or do anybody here have a better idea. Sorry for the long post but thats where I am at so far with my build and looking to get some ideas on what direction to go or just anything I might see as usefull . I will need some help I am sure as I can keep reeftanks nice and healthy but give me a betta and he will be swimming in that toilet bowl in the sky in 2 weeks:rolleyes:

sissy