water changes

Reaction score
Hi chaps

I'm fairly new to the pond hobby....
Have a couple of questions..
My pond is about 8000 gals, have 2 Skippy type filters, 1 150 gal and 1 300 gal. I have about 40 fish from some small orf to a big 2 foot koi . I'm running 3 55 Jebao UVs.
I'm not getting any algae, but do experience murky water. I think this may be because I feed the 300 gal filter from 2 pumps sitting on the bottom, sucking up fish poo and other stuff in the water... could this be my problem??
My question is, to clear my water and make it clear I'm doing very big water changes about every 2 weeks. I'm on well water and will typically leave the garden hose running all day (about 8 hrs) this certainly clears the water, I'm guessing that would probably be about an 80% water change. Is that bad? Am I stressing my fish??

Any ideas advice would be great fully received. ..

TIA

Regards. ..

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Our pond is on a well, for me it would be a concern to change over the water that often, our ph is 5.5 or so.

How long has your pond been set up? Mine took a month or so to settle in and become nice clear water. Do you have filter material in your filters that will collect the finer stuff floating in your pond. You might be doing a pond start over with that big of water change that often, notice the might lol. With each start over it has to go through the new pond syndrome.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
That is a pretty dramatic change. Maybe you could solve your problem by getting the pump up off the bottom a bit? Although if it's feeding your filter that should be a good thing, right? Why isn't your filter catching the debris?

Reaction score
Thanks for the input chaps....
The pond has been up and running for a while, this will be my second winter season.