Water Hyacinth dying in indoor pond

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8A
Country
United States
I am new to ponds and the plants in them. I have a small patio pond 18gal with a pump and waterfall I made. It is doing great. So I got a heavy-duty tote of about 10gal and set up a pump with a fountain on it. I have a full spectrum light about 8 inches from the pond surface. The overflow of water Hyacinth I bring in from the patio pond dies off in about two weeks. I have no fish in ether pond I might later. What do I need to do to grow the plants? I have some house plant food will that work or do I need fish emulsion to feed the plants. My main goal is to be able to overwinter them indoors. I live in GA just 30 miles south of Atlanta we can get cold here sometimes. I will try to post pics of my ponds the indoors I just put two plants in today since I added just a little of my houseplant food to the water.
Thanks for any help.
Alfred
20210713_151756.jpg
20210713_151656.jpg

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
I am new to ponds and the plants in them. I have a small patio pond 18gal with a pump and waterfall I made. It is doing great. So I got a heavy-duty tote of about 10gal and set up a pump with a fountain on it. I have a full spectrum light about 8 inches from the pond surface. The overflow of water Hyacinth I bring in from the patio pond dies off in about two weeks. I have no fish in ether pond I might later. What do I need to do to grow the plants? I have some house plant food will that work or do I need fish emulsion to feed the plants. My main goal is to be able to overwinter them indoors. I live in GA just 30 miles south of Atlanta we can get cold here sometimes. I will try to post pics of my ponds the indoors I just put two plants in today since I added just a little of my houseplant food to the water.
Thanks for any help.
Alfred
View attachment 141009View attachment 141010