Water Hyacinth??

Karen

I'd rather be Fishin'
Reaction score
I'm adding plants to my newly build pond. It's 2000 gals. The Water Hyacinth grows "wild" here where I live. Most people don't like it because it's so invasive, taking over our water ways, rivers, etc.....But I've read it's great for "clearing up" a pond. So I'm wondering if any of you have this plant in your pond? Do you like it? Also....How many plants do you really need in a pond? I can get as much of this plant as I need....free.

Reaction score
I am pretty new to ponds myself but I am also putting Water Hyacinths in my pond. From what I have read, the general rule is to put enough to cover about 60% of the surface of your water. I am also from SE Tex and I have looked all over the bayous around here and I have not found any hyacinths as of yet. Maybe it is a little early for them. So I have had to order some plants.
I hope this helps a little

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5a
Hyacinths do a good job of ting up the extra nutrients in the water that algae feeds off of, plus they shade the sides and bottom of your pond, starving the algae of sunlight. On top of that, they provide shade for your fish and help hide them from predators. Also I have seen both koi and goldfish nibbling at the roots.

Be careful about ordering the plants in your area. Because hyacinths grow VERY fast, they are choking out the waterways in many of the Southern states, and are banned from import because they are classified as a noxious weed.

The good news is they are very easy to control in an enclosed pond. They make good fertilizer, so when my pond gets full in the Summer, I will clear out a bunch of hyacinths, chop them up with the lawnmower, and throw them on my garden.

I just wish I could find a way to keep some over the Winter here. It costs me $3-$5 per plant to restock every Spring, and I would need to grow them indoors for about 6 months out of the year. Any suggestions?

fishin4cars

True friends just call me Larkin