Water table

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all as in a previous thread I'm new to this and my waterfall was leaking but all sorted now.
Now I have a new problem. After all the wet weather in sunny Manchester my garden is water logged and my pond has big bubbles in it and some of the shelves have eroded away under the liner due to the amount of water under my liner. I am going to have to rip it out and start again. Not a problem but what is the best way to combat the high water table. Build the pond up above the.ground and still use liner or build Brick walls and a concrete Base render them and then paint it with pond paint or similar? If anyone could point me in the right direction it would be appreciated

Thanks in advance

Steve

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
I would build it above ground, build a structure and use your liner. Check the construction threads there are some above ground builds there that will help you out.

I have never done one.

Reaction score
Country
United States
We had the same problem and we ended up getting sand bags and lined the perimeter of the pond with them 2 bags high and then pulled the liner up over the sandbags & filled up the pond.The added height worked wonders,we had a bubble in the liner maybe a day after we filled the pond but it disappeared and liner has stayed down ever since:)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United Kingdom
We have a free standing pond with only the bottom drain bellow ground so we dont get that problem .
It may well be that the water table has pushed up undernealth the pond and may now be trying to push the bottom of the pond upwards towards the ponds surface .

Dave

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
Above ground, partially above ground....either. I would recommend the use of concrete blocks for support walls for the liner.

addy1