Waterfall, So I did it wrong! How would you do it? PICTURES ATTACHED

GreatDanesDad

Electro-Mechanical Engineer
Reaction score
So I am the first to admit that I am new to this game and have had my share of learning experiences. The waterfall is no exception. Ok the way my filter works is water comes in the bottom and spills out the top onto a piece of flagstone and then into a small pool, which then pours into the actual pond in a similar fashion.

The problem, the filter is a round barrel and I could not find an easy spillway for the water to exit. I cheated, took a piece of flagstone stacked it against the barrel and took the advice of the guy from ace hardware and used “Pond Stuff” to seal around the flagstone and the opening in the barrel. It worked for a year without a leak for $9. So I guess I got what I paid for.

Well as was no surprise to me, and I am sure it wont be to you, water is leaking (a lot) between the barrel and the flagstone spill way now. How would you guys recommend fixing such a situation?

Attachments

• IMG_1380.JPG
    IMG_1380.JPG
    100.3 KB · Views: 373
  • Waterfall1.JPG
    Waterfall1.JPG
    75.7 KB · Views: 418
  • IMG_1132.JPG
    IMG_1132.JPG
    75 KB · Views: 458
  • 20130512_143023.jpg
    20130512_143023.jpg
    104.9 KB · Views: 419
  • IMG_1348.JPG
    IMG_1348.JPG
    80.7 KB · Views: 391

JohnHuff

I know nothing.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
1a
Country
Kyrgyzstan
I know a quick and easy way to do it, it'll only cost you $9 a year. You might have some of the materials already, in which case it would be even cheaper.

GreatDanesDad said:
...took the advice of the guy from ace hardware and used “Pond Stuff” to seal around the flagstone and the opening in the barrel. It worked for a year without a leak for $9.
Or are you looking for something more permanent?

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States