What’s for dinner?

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
3b
Country
United States
As I’m new to the goldfish game but know how picky my other fish are, what are you feeding your gold friends? I know what I have been feeding mine isn’t the best and I’d like to step up their diet for good health.

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
They either get nothing or some food I bought from the fish hatchery. Usually feed them very little.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7b
I have some mini pellets I bought when they were small - last year. My pond is heavily planted and there is plenty in there for them to eat. I just give them a small amount once a week to keep them social. It's really fun watching them clean the algae off of everything. Seeing them jump up to get a bug is really exciting! I had one going after some little bug critters on the side of a rock - just above the water level. The fish was coming up and out of the water - vertically - to clean them off. It's fun to feed them -- but even more fun to watch them thriving in a natural (natural-ish) setting!

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
3b
Country
United States
I don’t believe my setup will ever establish enough to support much more than maybe small gups. It will soon enough start getting awful chilly in the overnights. Then the great shift indoors. So, this is a glorified outdoor aquarium with hungry mouths. A living water feature if you will. I know some folks that use a powder that mixes into cubes. These fish are on Tetra Koi and I’m sure there’s far better diet choices out there.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7b
Check out Webb's Water Gardens online. The address is webbsonline.com.
I got the microbe lift summer pellets. The fish all seem to enjoy! I have heard of others giving their fish chopped egg and stuff like that. But that might be just for koi.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country