What are my Koi doing?

Reaction score
I am new to the Koi pond thing, but they have been doing very well so far. (I think)

Today there was a bunch of fish in our water feed channel. I've never seen them do this. Do like the cool water, is there not enough oxygen in the big pond?
Maybe spawning??

Attachments

• DSC03378.JPG
    DSC03378.JPG
    128.9 KB · Views: 306
Reaction score
Hard to say not a lot of info. What are your water test results?

Do like the cool water.
Depends on how hot the pond is and how cold the source water is. Is the water feed channel from a pump or new water from a well or city water?

Is there not enough oxygen in the big pond?
Possible. Not sure how I'd know. Things like water tests, water temp, size of pond, what kinds of fish you have, number and size of fish, amount of food fed would allow for at least a guess.

Normally it isn't so much low O2 as poor water inhibiting the ability of fish to take in O2. Like being in a smoke filled room, still lots of O2, but the other chemicals inhibit our ability to take in O2 and we die.

Maybe spawning??
Possible, but probably not. If I'm to deduce from "Koi pond" that the fish are Koi (they look like goldfish in the pic), their ancestors lived in ditches and swam into fields when flooded, so they're drawn to current, especially when the chemical and temp is different. Some people call this spawning behavior, but not exactly. More accurate imo to say these conditions can induce spawning, although the source water would normally be warmer.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States