What can/should I do with this indoor pond?

Reaction score
Country
South Africa
Hi there!

I've bought a house with an exposed natural rock in the living room and the previous owners had built a water feature around it (see attached pics). I'm thinking of using it for a fish pond, but I've got no experience with fish ponds/aquariums, etc. Could I have any advise/ideas with regards to appropriate types of fish, pond lighting, pumps, plants, etc? What would you do with it?

Measurements:
~3.5m long
~0.8m usable width (if filled with water)
~0.8m deep

THANKS!

Iphone April 2016 012.JPG Iphone April 2016 013.JPG

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
get a puump with a built in prefilter as that may be all you need .Just take it out and rinse it off once in awhile and done .

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
cool! I'd put top-view fish like goldfish in there. Only a few though as goldfish is dirty and with that size pond I think it'll be hard to clean it often. Maybe something like guppy will be good too.

Do they have plumbing to run water from the rock down as a water fall?

I dont think your pond is big enough for a fountain (water will spill out). So If it was me, i'd use a little plant container with lots of gravel, put the output hose from the pump through the bottom of the container, let the water go up and over the container and rundown the container back tot he pond. The container itself will sit somewhere within the pond. That will have little splash and add filter. I'd plant something that's shade tolerant and love water in that container.

Last edited:
Reaction score
Country
South Africa
cool! I'd put top-view fish like goldfish in there. Only a few though as goldfish is dirty and with that size pond I think it'll be hard to clean it often. Maybe something like guppy will be good too.

Do they have plumbing to run water from the rock down as a water fall?