what do i need for a new pond

Reaction score
hello my name is wayne i have a pond 6x4ft and have had for 2 years it is a standard pond with a pump and a filter box it is doing the job at the moment but as my koi are growing large now i would like to build them a bigger pond i was thinking about 15x6ft and 6ft deep 3ft bellow ground and 3ft above but i herd this needs to be back filled does any one know how to do this, also i have been reading other peoples articles on ponds and they mention - venturi, bottomdrain, scimmers, EXC can any one please help me in listing the things i should be looking at for my new pond as i am a novice in this area i would like some info on the accessories that i will need so i can read up on and how they work and for what use
thank you for reading my article and would appreciate any information any one can give me :goldfish: :goldfish:

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
another-fish-welcome.gif

With koi filtration, bottom drains (most have some don't) water movement and size.

You are planning the size.
Check the diy section for some good how to build filters.
I use a pool skimmer for my goldie pond. Skimmers, some like some don't. They do help move the water and get rid of floating debris.
The venturi adds air, some use some don't a good air pump will help with that.

Below ground will it be block also?

There are some threads on building above ground ponds, if you use block, concrete, rebar I am not sure you would need to back fill.

Start a construction thread on your build, you will get lots of help, suggestions.

fishin4cars

True friends just call me Larkin
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a