What does Tofu taste like?

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
I don't like the look of Tofu, but since I don't eat meat I have to look for other sources of proteins and I learned that Tofu is made with beans so I'm considering giving it a try but I'm not good at trying new foods, can you guys tell me what it tastes like?

ZEROPILOT

Faster than you are.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
10a-10b
Country
United States
Whatever it's cooked in.
It's the consistancy that I dislike the most.
But, I must say. My wife LOVES the stuff.
It's not made with beans. It IS fermented soy bean.
I suggest that your introduction to it be in a professionally cooked dish......Like at a Chinese restaurant.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
sorry but think I would prefer beans over tofu .I don't like any kind of food from those eat out places .I had a friend who worked in a couple and the stories she told scared me away .I got food poisoning 2 times here from places my sister wanted to go for her birthday and so did she and my other sister .

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
It has a bit of a taste but nothing off-putting, but if you press it to drain it and then marinate it, it will soak in the marinade. If you don't like the consistency, you can freeze it first. If you freeze it, it almost gets a ground beef consistency if you shred it with a fork or processor. There are many different firmness level available as well.

MoonShadows

The Jam Man
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
We make a few dishes with Tofu, and like others have said, it takes on the taste of whatever you cook it with. We use it in a 100% vegetable Lasagna that you would be hard pressed to distinguish from a regular Lasagna. We us e the recipe from the Engine 2 cookbook.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States