What filtration system can I use for my pond??

Reaction score
Country
United States
I'm only a newbie in this hobby, I started keeping some comet goldfish not too long ago. I was wondering what filtration I can install to my small fish pond. It's only around 35-40 gallon and I don't have any nearby outlet. Is there a way I can have a filter without using electricity?

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hello and welcome!

For a container that small, I personally wouldn’t recommend goldfish at all, especially if you don’t have power for a filter/pump. For those keeping goldfish in an aquarium, 40 gallons is pushing the limit — and that‘s with filtration and a single GF (speaking from experience). Depending on your climate, maybe consider guppies, Rosie reds (minnows), or mosquito fish (they will add “fertilizer” for the plants, but will also help keep the mosquito population under control — still water is a haven for mosquitos. Plants are your friend when it comes to filtering your water.

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
1630169472822.gif
@NewbieFishHobbyist

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello and welcome!

For a container that small, I personally wouldn’t recommend goldfish at all, especially if you don’t have power for a filter/pump. For those keeping goldfish in an aquarium, 40 gallons is pushing the limit — and that‘s with filtration and a single GF (speaking from experience). Depending on your climate, maybe consider guppies, Rosie reds (minnows), or mosquito fish (they will add “fertilizer” for the plants, but will also help keep the mosquito population under control — still water is a haven for mosquitos. Plants are your friend when it comes to filtering your water.