What is my required minimum pond size?


Joined
Jul 22, 2013
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Location
Eastern Panhandle WV
Good Morning Everyone,

I have recently built my first pond and made an apparently normal (have been reading on here for the past few weeks) rookie mistake of making my pond too small. I wanted only goldfish, hubby added two koi (he did the majority of the work, I couldn't say no :) one is around ten inches, one is btw 5-6 inches. The pond is 458 gallons, other fish include a small school of rosy minnows for mosquito control, a large comet, four small comets, two small shubunkins, a couple of snails and a crayfish. I realize that it is much too small for long term, will be rebuilding this fall. I am wanting to be conservative with money bc we are planning to build our perfect pond in our new home in a year or two. I am sort of considering this pond a learning experience for our future pond. Water tests have all been within normal limits, fish appear active and happy. My ultimate question is how long will I be ok if I only increase the pond size to around 1200 gallons? Is that going to be too small? I am unsure how much the koi will grow before the move. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
 
Ad

Advertisements

sissy

sissy
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
32,914
Reaction score
15,542
Location
Axton virginia
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
welcome and yep that is usually what happens and don't feel bad no one told me how big koi get either and had to build bigger ,but never thought they would get to be over 2 ft long GEEZE :cheerful: took my fish 9 years to get this big and only thing I can suggest is extra filtering because they produce a lot of waste.I am thinking of a 3rd filter
[sharedmedia=core:attachments:55871]
 

slakker

AKA Mike
Joined
Mar 20, 2012
Messages
351
Reaction score
321
Location
Vancouver, Canada
Hardiness Zone
8b
I visited my local pond expert and he has a mud bottom pond fed by a spring... his oldest and largest koi is 26 years old and about 2 feet long!

I just built a 1000-1200 G pond and think I'm in the same boat as you... too small a pond for what I want to eventually keep! :)
 

sissy

sissy
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
32,914
Reaction score
15,542
Location
Axton virginia
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
I wonder why his fish are that small after 26 years and mine are 9 years old .I took just my aggie out and measured her and she was just over 2 ft last year and not sure about this year .I know here we don't get much of a winter though so maybe that is it and i only feed mine 3 or 4 times a week .Less waste to filter .I want to do a haydite filter by itself just to see how it works .
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2013
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Location
Eastern Panhandle WV
Thanks for your input guys.....maybe fish growth is not easily measured? I keep worrying that if I can't get like 2000 gallons now that I will begin to have problems but bc I can't add much to my surface area I can't get much more than 1200 gallons.
 
Ad

Advertisements

sissy

sissy
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
32,914
Reaction score
15,542
Location
Axton virginia
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
I think as long as you filter well you should be safe for 3 years or so and that should give you time to find your dream home .Are you staying in WV as it gets colder there so you may need deeper or get a pond heater .I retired here because it was cheaper and warmer than NJ .People at my other house came from Richlands WV
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2013
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Location
Eastern Panhandle WV
Thanks again everyone! We are planning on remaining nearby in Northern VA, close in miles but definitely slightly milder weather. We are planning on digging to 4' and on purchasing a pond de-icer.

Another question that I have read conflicting info about is .....Do minnows ( I think that I have 6) count toward your fish load? I have read that they do and then some people say that they do not. They tend to remain in my pond's very shallow areas and seem to be doing a great job of maintaining water movement and mosquito control.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 9, 2012
Messages
6,275
Reaction score
2,814
Location
Plymouth
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United Kingdom
Koi unfortunately are the only fish that outgrow the boundries of what pond they live in and a larger pond would be advisable for them .
Some of the Jumbo koi can acheive 3 ft in length but most between 22" and like our own largest 28".
When building a pond for koi I wold suggest upping your filtration to a multi chambered filter for Koi by the way dont have a stomach just a intestine where the goodness is taken up from and they pass qute a bit of waste out of there anal vent thus the larger filtration .
You will however have time to build that dream pond

rgrds

Dave
 

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Moderator
Donor
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
43,392
Reaction score
27,951
Location
Frederick, Maryland
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
according to that calculator I am way over stocked and have been for years. Last time I was able to count them we had over 200 fish all different sizes. The water tests, when I do them, are always perfect.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
13,454
Reaction score
7,638
Location
NW Louisiana -- zone 8b
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
addy1 said:
according to that calculator I am way over stocked and have been for years. Last time I was able to count them we had over 200 fish all different sizes. The water tests, when I do them, are always perfect.
But you have excellent filtration -- I think that's the big factor.
 
Ad

Advertisements

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Moderator
Donor
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
43,392
Reaction score
27,951
Location
Frederick, Maryland
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
True true, one huge bog, sucks all that bad stuff out of the pond.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top