What kind of algae do i have and how do I fight it ?

eke

Reaction score
Hello guys!
I'm pretty new in pond building and growing koi, but so far i love my pond and my koi's.
Yet i have one concern. There is some kinda algae in my water, and i can't get rid of it.
My pond is pretty small, about 1600-1700 liters. Runing a 2500l/h pump, and a self made bio filter.
Yet the filter doesn't do much of a job, it's running 24hours a day for about a week or a bit more. Here's some specs of the filter (maybe i'v done something wrong building it) >>

http://img717.imageshack.us/img717/4272 ... 109org.jpg - that's the bottom layer of the filter.

http://img19.imageshack.us/img19/4097/c ... 165139.jpg - the middle layer, these are probably the air stones i guess

http://img191.imageshack.us/img191/4026 ... 544org.jpg - the last one, a sponge.

The water goes in at top, and goes out at the bottom.

And here's my water problem >>

http://img808.imageshack.us/img808/6174 ... 209org.jpg
I searched the net a lot, however was unable to find what kind of algae or water problem i have. The water is also full of tiny particales. I'v also tried using Tetrapond AlgaeRem, but it didn't help, after the usage the water looked like that >>
http://img35.imageshack.us/img35/1527/c ... 211826.jpg

http://img69.imageshack.us/img69/259/c3 ... 035org.jpg

http://img231.imageshack.us/img231/1245 ... 804org.jpg

One more thing, at night or at early morning the water is pretty much nice and clear, as the day goes on the water begins to mess up with these organisms.
So if anyone know's that kind of algae do i have, and how should i fight please tell, i would very much apreciate your help.

And just out of intrest, maybe anyone know's what kind of problem did my koi had ? >>

Fortunatly the salt bath helped him and he's doin fine, the fin is almost the same as the other and the red color in it almost disapeared, just out of intrest I would like to know what kind of problem did he had
icon_e_smile.gif