What kind of frog are best for a pond?

Reaction score
I have heard Bullfrogs can become invasive and eat everything in the pond, so I guess I should not get one.
I caught some tadpoles in a creek and only one turned into a frog while the others died, I believe it's an African Clawed Frog. Are they good frogs for a pond? It is about 2 inches now and eats the worm I gave him.
I do want to get more frogs in there, but not sure what species would be best, any input would be appreciated.

200 Gallon pond.
Water hyacinth, Water lilies, Anacharis
15 gold fishes, 10 mosquito fish, 5 guppies.

DrDave

Innovator
Reaction score
I am not a frog expert but I once had a tree frog, never saw him, but I listened to him for several years. To my knowledge, he never caused any problems unless you didn't like the continuous Ribbit-Ribbit-Ribbit...

Reaction score
If you look in Pond Building and Construction there is a thread on "Winterization for froggies" were I put some info on the main pond frogs and what they eat. Your best bet though is to check with your local County Extension Office, or Department of Natural Resources. They could tell you what frogs are native to your area so you're not bringing in an invasive species.

Reaction score
Bullfrogs are one of the worst invasive species around here, they not only eat native frogs and salamanders, but also carry disease that affects native populations. If you have any native frogs in your yard they should use your pond in the spring for mating and laying eggs. I would stay away from any non-native frogs IMHO.

oldmarine

Married 32 years
Reaction score
Hi Canardroti,