What size/type skippy to use in my pond?

Reaction score
I am at the point on what type/size of skippy filter needed for my pond. I am new to all this so please be patient with me. According to the dimensions on the attachment what would you guys recommend. I am really leaning towards the 55 gal filter or the 70 gal skippy I have seen here mentioned. My question is would the 55 gal be enough to filter such volume or do I need to go with a bigger size taking into consideration the tubing length, head, etc. You guys can advise me better since you guys are the experts. Thanks

Attachments

• POND SKETCHjpg.jpg
    POND SKETCHjpg.jpg
    36.8 KB · Views: 343

DrCase

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
It has a lot to do with your fish load...Your pond is going to be 3500 gals
you will need more than i filter or one large one ..
I have 3 55g filters on my 4500 gals and it works well
1 150 gal stock tank would cover it also

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Reaction score
and 10' of horizontal run in pipe is equal to 1' of vertical so if your running 18' of horizonta youve added just under 2' of head height.

Reaction score
Thanks Dr & Koiguy,
Wow I really have that much volume for my pond. I must of under estimated big time, you think. lol At best I thought I was at 2000 gal being that the pond starts out at only 1' deep and 1 1/2' in the middle and 2' at the deepest end. So I averaged 1500 to 2000 max. Okay, well I hope I have enough room in that corner of the pond to squeeze in a 150 gal tank or 3 55 gal drums. There's a place here that sells 55 gal drums or $20 each or I'll have to find a feed store, tractor supply store around here or see if I can order one online. What do you think of the pond so far? Thanks again

Attachments

• pond dug out.jpg
    pond dug out.jpg
    76.3 KB · Views: 345

DrCase

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
I did get the # from the side of your drawing... i added them together,
were they correct ?

Reaction score