What to do when a slow leak is possibly behind massive boulders

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello! Thank you for reading, I’m new to Garden Pond Forum and curious if anyone has any ideas. Background...we have a two pond/3 waterfall feature in our backyard that was installed by previous owners. They also planted aspens around the ponds... so you can imagine how well that went. Last year during quarantine I was able to successfully patch/repair our bottom pond (the aspen roots had punctured the flexible liner), installed a Savio Skimmerfilter, and installed a PondMax pressure filter/UV clarifier. I was also able to move up to the second pond and make the edges more defined and repaired a few visible holes. It was a busy year and I have learned a lot.
This week I started back at it, and with great disappointment realized I now have a leak at the 2” mark of the base of the middle (second) pond. It could have been caused during my repair and repositioning of rocks last summer, or it could be caused by a new root puncture (aspens have been killed off via poison for 1.5 years now however there are a few conifers around this pond). It is a slow leak, I have tried the milk method on a non-windy day and the water just becomes cloudy over time with no movement or leak detected. There are some massive boulders at the back of the pond (see attached picture) that are too heavy to be moved.
First question... does anyone have ideas on how to determine where a slow leak is located?
Second question... what are my options now since we will not be able to reposition and check behind the massive boulders at the back? I’m assuming filling the pond with cement up to 3” wouldn’t work, but could it? Is there a product out there for this type of pond issue?
My plan now is to begin to pull apart my work from last year and inspect visually. I also think I could refill the pond (after removing small boulders along edge) and examine for leaks again.