When to run aerators?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
I’m a newb....my pond builder included two aerators and a air pump in the build. I can adjust the level of aeration using a valve in the tubing going to each. That said I’m wondering when to use them as my pond already has a stream and a couple waterfalls that also help aerate the water I would assume. I’d prefer to leave them off when possible as they stir the water and make it harder to see the fish, etc.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
I would say run it 24/7 365 days, but it might depend on the size of your pond.
I think the more oxygenation the better.
If the pond is really small, maybe you don't need it.
How many gallons is your pond?
My pond is 1500+ gallons and my aerator runs all the time. I have two large air stones running off one pump. I also have a waterfall and a fountain.

Reaction score
I only run mine when I shut the pond down for the winter. As long as your pump is turning the water in the pond over you are fine.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
We run ours at night always, and 24/7 when it's really hot out. And then all winter long, but at a much higher spot in the pond, about 6 inches under the water.

One thing to consider - the same thing that makes it harder for you to see your fish makes it harder for predators to see your fish, too. So if you have any concerns, especially of the avian variety, you may want to use the aerators when you aren't actively viewing your fish.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
I’m a newb....my pond builder included two aerators and a air pump in the build. I can adjust the level of aeration using a valve in the tubing going to each. That said I’m wondering when to use them as my pond already has a stream and a couple waterfalls that also help aerate the water I would assume. I’d prefer to leave them off when possible as they stir the water and make it harder to see the fish, etc.