Where to 1.5 in irrigation tubing


Ad

Advertisements

Ad

Advertisements

DrDave

Innovator
Moderator
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
6,842
Reaction score
105
Location
Fallbrook, Ca USA
You might want to start out with 500' and see how that goes. You can always add more later. The quantity of 7000 is an estimate based on the speed that my gardener was cutting them for me. It could be less.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2010
Messages
24
Reaction score
0
Location
Palm Coast, FL
Since 500' of this will not completely fill a 55 gallon barrel, I have to assume that there will be a lot of dead space with not filtration material between the bottom grate that I use and the area where I will have the PVC pipe that will take the water back to the pond.

Fair assumption?
 

DrDave

Innovator
Moderator
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
6,842
Reaction score
105
Location
Fallbrook, Ca USA
Re: Where to get .5 in irrigation tubing

Keep in mind that the bottom chamber is about 12" high, The cut tubes will not be any higher than your overflow, and they will float. Even if they do not completly fill that space, the object is to get enough surface area for the bacteria to grow and enough interference so the solids will settle.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jul 7, 2009
Messages
2,817
Reaction score
19
Location
North Carolina
why don't you just buy strapping on ebay? It will more easily fill a barrel and sure as heck be a heap less work. I can't imagine sitting there cutting 7000 pieces of pvc. Plus, that sure as heck is gonna be heavy when you're trying to get it out of the barrel for a good cleaning.

Strapping will be way easier to hose off, too, for cleaning. If you get crud in the pvc tubes, that ain't gonna be easy to keep clean.

Just my little ol' opinion, but you should be able to do better than that. And for less money and effort.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2009
Messages
1,679
Reaction score
371
Location
Pacific NW
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
I agree!
koikeepr said:
why don't you just buy strapping on ebay? It will more easily fill a barrel and sure as heck be a heap less work. I can't imagine sitting there cutting 7000 pieces of pvc. Plus, that sure as heck is gonna be heavy when you're trying to get it out of the barrel for a good cleaning.

Strapping will be way easier to hose off, too, for cleaning. If you get crud in the pvc tubes, that ain't gonna be easy to keep clean.

Just my little ol' opinion, but you should be able to do better than that. And for less money and effort.
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2009
Messages
2,817
Reaction score
19
Location
North Carolina
I think strapping is also a better bio media overall because of the little divits it has. Great place for the bacteria to hang onto.

Plus just unroll it and stuff it in a bag and in your barrel it goes. I can't imagine sawing pvc to fill a barrel. Give it a good shake on the ground to clear the crud and back in it goes.
 

PS3

Joined
Mar 19, 2010
Messages
351
Reaction score
1
Location
long island ny
ok so the bottom chamber is 12 inches high with grate. put a filter on the great right.
then fill the drum with the media but do go past the return?
do i have to put another grate to hold down the media so it dont go past the
return to the pond
 
Ad

Advertisements

DrDave

Innovator
Moderator
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
6,842
Reaction score
105
Location
Fallbrook, Ca USA
I first made a 1/2" mesh screen to cover my overflow pipe on the inside. Then after It clogged several times I went to a larger opening and made a drilled out pipe with a cap on it to prevent the media from overflowing out.
I'm working on taxes right now. When I get a chance, I will update my web page that has the Bio Filter and it will have a photo of the latest changes.
 

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Messages
10,587
Reaction score
6,396
Location
Michigan zone 5b
yes put a top grate on... it allows you to put more media in without losing any over the top of barrel you can set a couple bricks on top to keep it down..thats what i did on my stocktank filter. i filled my upper grate outer ring with sand for weight on my barrel filter.
 

PS3

Joined
Mar 19, 2010
Messages
351
Reaction score
1
Location
long island ny
so a brick will be ok ? u really have to pack the drum with media
and i guess the water goes thougth the media nice and slow
 
Ad

Advertisements

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Messages
10,587
Reaction score
6,396
Location
Michigan zone 5b
you dont really have to PACK it in but as the drum fills with water the media rises with the water if nothings there to stop it it will float out your return and even over the top of the barrel even.. a grate right at the bottom of your waters oulet(water level) will prevent both.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top