Which fish to fill pond with?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have recently inherited a garden pond (8ft long x 7ft wide x 1ft deep) and live in the UK.

I am new to this so I looking for recommendations of what type of fish to fill the pond with. There are no fish currently in the pond.

There is currently a Lilly plant, pump, filter, oxygenator (I think that is what they're called) and net in place. The water is clear with a small amount of green algae forming on the surface (being looked into on another thread).

Thanks in advance.

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
I vote Shubunkins! Love the colors:
1586965354666.jpeg

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Stay away from koi, your pond is not big enough. Shubbies are beautiful fish imho. These are some of mine.View attachment 127593

Thanks for your reply.

I think I will be investing in some of these as they are very nice. There used to be some gold coloured fish with black spots on their backs, around six inches long in the pond, any idea what they are?

Attachments

• IMG_0698.jpg
    IMG_0698.jpg
    90.5 KB · Views: 113
Reaction score
Country
United States
Your pond is slightly over 400-gallons but very shallow. I would start slowly. Is the pond cycled? If not, consider fishless cycling and afterwards, add only a couple of fish at a time.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Your pond is slightly over 400-gallons but very shallow. I would start slowly. Is the pond cycled? If not, consider fishless cycling and afterwards, add only a couple of fish at a time.

Thanks for your reply Stephen,

To be more precise it has an outer shelf around a foot deep then deeper in and around the middle, almost two feet deep. I think its is nearer 350 gallons.

The pond has had fish in for a long period of time, just not over the last 3 months.