Which pond media ?

Reaction score
Hi !!! I'm a complete novice who has just built my pond and was wondering what is a good media to have to keep koi ?? I built my pond 2 yrs ago and incorporated a back filter box to also act as a water fall. My pond is 6ft x 6ft x 40 inches deep sloping on the bottom from 32 inches to 40. It is roughly 897 gallons ,4078 litres. At the back is a tank which I made a waterfall in and also planned on using it as a filter box ! I've got all different types of sponges in there and different plastic media but I've seen this rock media called Alfa grog and was just wondering if it would be any good for koi ???? My water is getting much cleaner now as my old pump was enough for my water volume so I brought a much better pump. I brought a baby koi 2 weeks ago but he lasted 3 days :( !!! Any suggestions on media and knowledge on koi would be very helpfull !!!

DrCase

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Welcome to the Forum

If your pond has had water in it for 2 years may be you just had back luck

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
pond is not very deep to hold koi ,have you ever tested your water and did you let the fish acclimate to the water in the bag you brought him home in before you released him into the pond .Could have been temperature shock .

Reaction score
I left the fish in the bag floating in my pond for 40 minutes as I normally do with every other fish I've introduced so I don't think it was shock as he lasted 3 days. And I wasn't aware that that you had to have certain depths to keep koi ??? My friend has a pond which is a plastic pond and its about 6ft in length 2ft wide by about 2 and half foot deep and he has kept 4 koi about 15 inches long in his pond for years !! And no I have never had the water tested. What would I be aiming for of the test ?? So are u saying my pond is not suitable for koi ???

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    104.4 KB · Views: 175

addy1