Which Type of Liner to Use for my New Pond?

Reaction score
Hey all,

So I have recently decided to dig a small pond, approximately 300 gallons in size. I'm not planning to add any fish or plants, but I would like to enhance the pond with some lighting and maybe some artificial pond lilies or something. I'd also like to add that this will be my first pond, so I'm currently a newbie at all this.

What I am unsure of is which type of pond liner I should go about using when I build this pond. I understand that flexible liners can be easy to work with, since they give you the freedom to fit the lining along the contours and edges of the hole that gets dug. However, what about pre-formed liners? Are they easier to work with, particularly for a novice pond DIYer such as myself? I would think that there are probably a greater range of options for pre-formed liners that are smaller in size (around 200 gallons), but I'm only speculating.

What type of liner do you guys think I should go with for installing my small pond? PVC, EPDM, Butyl, etc?

JBtheExplorer

Native Gardener
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
I would suggest flexible and EPDM. PVC works but has a shorter life expectancy. Preformed liners seem to be so expensive for such a small body of water.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
I used 45 mil epdm which is just a fancy name for rubber roofing .pvc is cheaper and if protected from the sun can last 10 to 20 years or more .Most times we end up building bigger ponds anyway .The is also 20 mil epdm and 30 mil epdm .My first pond was a preformed but in freeze and thaw it would lift out of the ground .pvc would be the cheapest and would be easiest to change out if there is a problem with it and if you want to go bigger easy also

Attachments

• ollies pond supplies 043.JPG
    ollies pond supplies 043.JPG
    114.4 KB · Views: 290
  • ollies pond supplies 041.JPG