White Eyes

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Hello,

One of my fish have while eyes and it doesn't seem to be able to see. Or at least--it is not appearing to see the food drop in front of it. It has not eaten in 2 days now and just swims around--today it was sort of off bal. a bit. Can fish go blind or could it be the only one in the pond with cloudy eye? Should I try treating the pond or just see what happens?

Thanks for any advice. If water parameters are needed--I can't do them until tomorrow morning.

003-001.JPG
004-001.JPG

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Has it always had white eyes? And has it ever exhibited this non-eating behavior before?
No--it is new--All of them have always eaten--I have tried sinking pellets in front of it--that is like a darn video game--and I'm not very good at those. So it has not got any, less it's just eating algae or something.

Reaction score
Country
United States
It is possible for one fish to have cloudy eye and not the others. The number one cause (although not the only) of cloudy eye is poor water quality and will normally go away on it's own once conditions have improved.

Do you have a water test kit? If not you should think about buying one. You can get the API Master Test Kit http://www.amazon.com/API-Freshwater-Master-Test-Kit/dp/B000255NCI and add GH & KH if you can http://www.amazon.com/API-GH-KH-Tes...UTF8&qid=1439757165&sr=1-1&keywords=api+kh+gh

As for not being able to see fish can find food by smell so they don't really have to see to be able to eat.

Do you have a quarantine tank if you end up needing it?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
It is possible for one fish to have cloudy eye and not the others. The number one cause (although not the only) of cloudy eye is poor water quality and will normally go away on it's own once conditions have improved.