White residue after Cloverleaf Blanket Answer

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello.... I've just joined the group in search of answers. I'm retired now and have a small 400 gallon Koi pond outside with an Arbor close by so I can sit and watch them. I have a 3 tiered water feature perhaps 7 foot long cascading into the pond and a central pump which has a fountain as well. Along with this I have a small aerator driving 2 airbags so I'm fairly sure my fish are getting enough oxygen. I've got 3 Koi carp, 1 small grass carp and a small golden carp one of the young boys next door decided I needed for my pond as well !! I'm no expert at keeping fish by any means and it was the boys who drove the project. Then they grew up and the fishing hobby took a backseat over the dating hobby. So here I am trying to learn as I go. That was 6 years ago so I must be doing something right.

I noted that one member was having trouble with suspended particles in the water and thought I would share my solution as I'd had the same problem. I cut most of the legs off a pair of tights and stretch them across the waterfall. I know they are fine mesh but don't know what that's called. I jusf asked my wife to get some the same as the ones she wore. It did the job overnight and the water was crystal clear. Now I need to find out what to do about the white residue that CBW leaves all over everything. I serious case of Brown / black growth and gooey sludge particularly on the liner and couldn't determine what it was. The filter really smelt when I cleaned it and this time I noticed there were small bubbles all over the pond walls. I'm not taking any chances with my lovely koi so CBW it was as it had worked on everything before. I really hope I've done the right thing.

mrsclem

mrsclem
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States