winter boi lift in summer

Glitter

Glitter
Reaction score
Hello.....glitter here.

I've been a newbie here for a year and am thinking I"ll always be one :)

After a long time of fighting with high levels of nitrite (Amonia and PH are good) I did a 25% water change (in a 1000 gallon pond) 3 days in a row. Finally,
all tests came out perfect. Stayed that way for a week. While we've been fighting algae since spring, I've been cleaning my pump filter daily as it's full of green
sludge. (850 and 650gph pumps and 2 boi filters 2000 and 600gph). All was well until I got a wild hair and thought I should clean the boi filters since I have so
much sludge in pump filter. Now my nitrate is at 1ppm and amonia is .25ppm. Should I do the water changes again and I have some sring/fall boi lift. Would
it hurt to put a little of that in to give te bio filter a boost.

Please don't make me feel too stupid :)

Reaction score
hello glitter... no one is gonna make you feel stupid... the spring/fall lift should work as well, it was designed to work at lower temps for the fall, but me for one thought they all did basically the same thing... somehow the spring/fall one works better at lower temps...warm weather will get bacteria growing and thriving anyways

Reaction score
i wouldn't worry too much about being so low of a reading as it should go down to zero... nitrate though is most likely what has made your pond cloudy.. generally i would say the bacteria got a little overwhelmed and didn't keep up... could have been from cleaning out the filter... keep a close eye on the levels and they should start to go back down in a couple of days

DrCase

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
How do you clean your filter glitter ?
Make sure you only use pond water and you should be good to go
I don't worry or even look in my filter i just flush out the bottom and go on

Reaction score