Winter is not here yet, but...

Reaction score
For those in the Carolinas, can you run your waterfall all winter? I live right near the central border of SC and NC. Sometimes we get snow, sometimes we don't. Winters can be low 30's at night or in the teens. What precautions or preparations do I need to take? Last year I my pond didn't have a waterfall and just had a simple fountain pump that I ran all winter with no problems and it was a cold winter. The UV light I stored away for winter.

This year I have a waterfall, skimmer and pressurized filter, how does all this work in the winter?

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
This is my first year with the stream etc. Last year turned all off. The biggest problem of a water fall is ice dams, one area freezes up there goes all the water in your pond.

We will be shutting down once it gets to the freezing temps.

I don't know about pressurized filters, you might want to read up on yours see what they suggest.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
A pressurized filter may crack in cold weather with the changes in temps .I had one on my first pond and the side split on it and lost a lot of water in that first pond .After that I decided to build a bigger pond and make my own filter .It was a tetra filter with a built in uv .It was 35 degrees when it split and cracked that night and I was debating turning it off just that day and didn't because I heard on the news it was supposed to warm up again .

Reaction score
I may have to shut down the waterfall and get another simple pump/fountain for the winter.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
As long as your pond does not freeze solid you should be fine I do this for winter

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States