winter water quality

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Hi everyone it's been a mild winter here and I have a few questions to ask. 1 is I was told that I should add baking soda to the water a 1/2 box for my pond size, but i've never done that before can some one explain why I should do this or if I have to. And the second question I have is that several days there is a foam around the heater and then it dissipates. And then maybe a few days or a week later it's back, what could it be. The fish seem fine , since it really hasn't gotten below freezing they are more active in previous winters. Thanks for any help and comments.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States
Hi everyone it's been a mild winter here and I have a few questions to ask. 1 is I was told that I should add baking soda to the water a 1/2 box for my pond size, but i've never done that before can some one explain why I should do this or if I have to. And the second question I have is that several days there is a foam around the heater and then it dissipates. And then maybe a few days or a week later it's back, what could it be. The fish seem fine , since it really hasn't gotten below freezing they are more active in previous winters. Thanks for any help and comments.

Hi Cinder - There are many questions such as what type filter do you have, do you shut it down for the winter, what is your pH and kH, what do you buffer the pH with, how many gallons is your pond? If you keep your pH high at 8.4 normally as I do, then