Wintering pond plants indoors

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi everyone! This is my first year winterizing my pond plants so I hope I am doing things correctly! Thought I would post here as I know that you guys will be able to answer my questions.
My pond is only about 2.5 ft. deep and and we are having freezes now. Due to this fact, I cut my water lily and water iris back and moved them indoors a couple weeks ago before the first frost. They are in a tote with water in a dim/dark room and I cut them back before bringing them in. My lily now has small red leaves. Is this normal? As for my water iris, it appears that it has grown some after trimming back and those leaves are yellow. Have I done anything wrong here, I have babied that iris all summer and hate to lose it now. Your thoughts?

TheFishGuy

( Insert something funny )
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
4b or 5a
Country
United States
I think the lily just hasn't triggered its winter response to go dormant, so it is still attempting to make new growth, nothing wrong as far as I know.

Not sure on the iris though.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
Does your iris need to be brought in? I thought most of them were very hardy. What zone are you in and what kind of iris is it?
I'm not sure about the lily since I only do hardy ones that stay in the pond.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Does your iris need to be brought in? I thought most of them were very hardy. What zone are you in and what kind of iris is it?
I'm not sure about the lily since I only do hardy ones that stay in the pond.

I am WV, Zone 6 I believe? The iris is a Louisiana gamecock I think? (Deep purple with yellow)
Sometimes my pond freezes solid in the winter so I thought I should bring it in?

mrsclem

mrsclem
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States