Woke up to dead fish.

Reaction score
All, I need help. I am new to ponding and have my pond that has been up and running for the past 6 months. The pond is 15' x 12' x 3'. The pond has a 3" bottom drain that is piped to a home made skippy filter in a rubbermaid tub 30 gallon that has a pump that returns to the top of the waterfall. I also have a skimmer that returns water to the top of the waterfall.

We live in Orlando FL and it has been hot and humid. We have been loosing a small amount of water weekly to evaporation and topped the water off on monday night. This added about 15% of the water volume.

Last night when I fed the fish all was fine and I had a total of 7 KOI that were 7-8" in length. This morning, I went out and found only 1 fish left in the pond, 3 were dead in the skimmer box and had lost thier colors and 3 were missing.

I justed tested the water and everything seems fine. I use two diffrent test strips the first checks Ammonia and the other does Nitrate, Nitrite, Hardness, PH, ALK, alkalinity.

The only koi that is left is around 10" and he is swimming and breathing fine but we are extremly upset and sad at the loss and worried about him too.

Anyone have any ideas on what may have caused this? Thanks in advance.

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Reaction score
i gotta take a guess and say you were visted by a preditor and some got eaten some made their way in the skimmer in an effort to evade preditor only to parish there...best guess a heron!

Reaction score
Thanks for your quick reply.