Woke up to DEAD koi's. 1 still alive. PH crash.

Reaction score
Let me start by saying that I'm new to all this. 1 have an 1800g pond with 6 big KOI. Yesterday evening I did a water test and the amonia was at 4 and ph was at 9! So I did a water change of about 15%. This morning i wake up and all the fish are dead. The PH is below 5!?! I don't know why? was it the water change? all the other tests were good and the fish were active yesterday.

I've read many articles and posts about ph crashes but none of them say WHY it crashed.... Only that if i see a crash coming, add baking soda. Thanks but with a PH of 9 how could i see it coming so quick (grrrr).

Any ideas?

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
did you treat the water if it is city water and 9 is not high i keep mine at 9 ,baking soda raises ph and you say yours is at 9 .When you did the change it could have shocked them if the water was colder than the pond at 15 % water change or warmer .With the weather swings I never do anything with my water this time of year fish are spawning or ready to spawn .I see you are in Texas and could be any of these things .I add crushed oyster shells to stabilize ph and lots and lots of activated charcoal

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
I have 2 3lb bags of activated charcoal in each of my filters and what kind of filter are you using and have you changed anything else .I have only ever heard of a 10% water change and i would never do one this time of year .Even if ammonia was high .Is your pump ok and does your filter smell and what condition is you water in before and after .Did you do a second test after the first one was high .I always do 2 tests if the first one is off just in case something went wrong with the first test .

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States