Working on Second Pond

Reaction score
Hi my name is Eve and I have been ponding since 2008 when I built my first 2000 gallon pond! I moved 2 years ago this summer and am planning my second pond after having to put it off last summer due to pregnancy;) I became obsessed with my fish after building my pond but unfortunately had to leave most of them in the old pond so am looking forward to having a herd again and a beautiful backyard retreat.

I'm an avid ponder, gardener and animal lover(dogs, cats, fish) but spend most of my days running after my 5 year old son and taking care of my 3 month old daughter. I belong to several pond and garden boards and am in full research mania mode;) lol

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
welcomeflowers09.gif
Eve

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
welcome eve and children are always a handful as I'm sure you know and good luck on building your new pond as I'm sure you will love it as much as your old pond .At least this time when you build you will remember any mistakes you did with your old pond .Experience is always a way to make things better and in ponds there is a lot of learning that comes with it .

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Glad you joined welcome to the group! We my little yorkie is a handful, can't imagine chasing kids lol

WelcomeGroupSmiley.gif

Reaction score
Thanks for the warm welcome!

Fish wise I am just sticking with goldies this time since my pond will be smaller. I'm thinking shubunkins and wakin. I had started a hole last summer when morning sickness hit and have just started up again. At this time I am thinking it will be about 8X11 and around 3 feet deep, maybe deeper depending on how the dig goes. I'm hoping to do two waterfalls. One bigger waterfall and a second smaller one that comes from an antique hand pump.