Worried I’ve done my wildlife pond wrong. Photos.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all. I’m in the uk and decided to do a wildlife pond. I was reading a book on wildlife ponds so followed that advice about putting soil in the bottom of the pond. I did this but now I’m worried I shouldn’t have done that. Online kind of says not to. If I’ve done it wrong I’m going to have to empty it and get the soil out. As you can see from the photo, I’m new to this and I haven’t yet sorted the edging of the pond. I also plan to get a solar water feature to help the water move, I’m also going to put plants in it. So what do you think? Have I done it wrong or am I just being impatient?

Attachments

• ABA2659F-BAAF-47A9-B5C9-43CC1DF05B5B.jpeg
    ABA2659F-BAAF-47A9-B5C9-43CC1DF05B5B.jpeg
    197 KB · Views: 68
  • C1485F70-0F02-49FE-979B-8AF9C23F1598.jpeg
    C1485F70-0F02-49FE-979B-8AF9C23F1598.jpeg
    279.7 KB · Views: 67

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Welcome to the forum.

The dirt might settle, I have only used kitty litter, pure clay, for my plants. All in pots not on the bottom.
I have not read about using dirt for a wildlife pond.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6 A
Country
United States
Welcome :). Your pond is a pretty shape and the surrounding plantings are very nice. You could watch and wait, to see if it settles, if it doesn't then drain it and remove the soil.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
I think it will settle and you’ll be fine. If it’s still cloudy after a week or so, then you can always do a water change to get out the suspended solids but leave the soil that has settled on the bottom for plants.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States