Would I be able to put a pond here?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hey everyone. I am a fish tank hobbyist and all winter I planned on putting in a small pond for my family to enjoy. (I am actually 16 but noone in my family knows stuff about fish lol) I work and have money to purchase items and my parents have agreed to help pay for some stuff. I have looked up lots of pond builds but I wanted to make my own in our patio.

I originally planned to make it in ground and just dig a hole and put a pool liner in there, but the only location I would be allowed to dig in is pretty far away from the house, so we decided to put it in our patio. Here I have a picture of our patio corner where we plan on putting it:http://imgur.com/KpF5A1n It is about 6 feet by 5 feet and those pots and flower stuff will be moved soon.

Anyway, the pond is going to be above ground, but my question is: how will we put a pond here above ground? I have a basic idea and had a thought that we could just take some stone (in the shape/size of a cinderblock) and make a square around that area and just put a pond liner in there.

I am hoping this is going to be low tech so I only plan on adding a small water fall in the back and maybe a filter. (I plan on letting it just go wild).

For stock I plan on putting in some small koi, and currently I am raising some baby show orandas. I have 7.

Would putting some stones around the edge, in total making the pond about 2-3 feet deep. I didn't know if the bricks on the bottom would scratch the pond liner or if it would catch on the bricks I was hoping to put on the side. Thanks all!

-John

peter hillman

Let me think for minute....
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
3-5
Country
United States