Would this work?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I am a newbie, about to be, first-time pond builder. I have the following equipment:

Oase BioSys Skimmer
Auto Clean Pressurised filter (All pond solutions Auto-PFC 12000) with a 11w UV (this will be sunken)
Aqua Evolution varipump 10,000 (this will be sunken outside of the pond)
2 in 1 waterfall box/filter ( 2 foam filters and bio balls)
eco-filtration 4" bottom Drain

As the pond will only have goldfish approx 6 - 8 is a bottom drain necessary? If so will it need to feed into a filter before flow arrives at the pump (see dotted line diagram) or can it flow straight into the pump? My thinking is as the large debris - leaves etc - will be taken care of by the skimmer and caught in the basket within all that would be drawn into the pump would be excrement, algae and some food, so nothing that should cause much of an issue for the pump; am I right?

However, if I'm wrong could the bottom drain either on its own or along with the skimmer drain, be piped to a separate filter (sponge and bio media) before being piped to the pump?

I am on a tight budget and close to my limit already.

I appreciate there will be the Rolls Royce version of a garden pond and I am not looking to be flippant, just to have a working system that provides a good level of filtration and water quality. Any advice as to how I can effectively utilise what I have would be gratefully received. I have seen a separate top-fed bottom outlet filter that is suitable for up to 7,000 ltr pond so if necessary I would purchase that to filter the BD and/or skimmer.

I look forward to any help and advice.

Keith

Would this work.jpg

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Welcome to our Forum!

As the pond will only have goldfish approx 6 - 8 is a bottom drain necessary?
I don't have a bottom drain and my pond does great.