Your thoughts on the use of Flocculents

ZEROPILOT

Faster than you are.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
10a-10b
Country
United States
The short story is that my twin, above ground ponds have been uninhabited except by mosquito guppies and ignored since my last back surgery a few months ago.
The tree next to them has dumped leaves in. I've cut down the tree. Removed almost all of the leaves and drained most of the water through a screen to save the guppies.
I've rebuilt the filters and replaced a lot of the other maintenance, plumbing and electrical items I've neglected and I'm left with suspended silt that kicks back up every time I move anything. Even though I've removed almost all of the debris.
Is this product as safe as it claims?
I'm prepared to replace my fine filter pads repeatedly. I just want my clear water back and I've never used a pond clarifier before

Attachments

• 20220227_211726.jpg
    20220227_211726.jpg
    99.7 KB · Views: 16
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
There's a big discussion going on in another thread about quilt batting. I imagine that would would solve your silty water problem. I've never used a flocculent, but my understanding is that they bind the small particles together in way that causes them to sink. So, I don't think your filter system plays much of a role when a flocculant is used.

Also not sure what happens when you disturbed the bound particles later, which seems like the problem you're describing—water becomes cloudy when you disturb it.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
What is in that product? Personally, I would like to know what the ingredients are before I added anything to the pond.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States