Intake Bay vs. Wetland Filtration

Reaction score
Country
Canada
I was thinking of adding a short creek that might double as an intake bay for my pond. But was hoping for a good amount of added biofiltration. Does an intake bay provide similar functions in terms of filtration as a shallow wetland filter? If both have the water pass through gravel, what’s the difference other than infiltration vs upwelling of water?

Thanks!

Last edited:
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
I believe an intake bay acts more like a skimmer to draw any floating debris to it. I don't think it's much of a filter per se.

A wetland bog filter strains out any solids and the beneficial bacteria colony breaks that down. Plus, plants are grown in the gravel which help remove excess nutrients from the water. Much more happening here than with the intake bay.

Now I'm no expert on intake bays. Maybe under all that gravel there might be some beneficial bacteria living down there. Hopefully the experts will chime in.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
I'd agree with that 100% @poconojoe . Wetland filtration is upflow, intake bay is downflow. And yes - I'm sure there are bacteria colonizing the gravel in an intake bay, but that's not it's primary purpose.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
I just altered my intake bay sorta speak as I'm not exactly sure what it is anymore. I have a negative edge that drops over a foot to a mini pond where my intake for my pump is in an aquablock. This was buried under 3 to 4 inch river rock. Here's tge issue I was having while tge debris is pulled to the intake area and it makes it way inbetween the rocks its impossible to easily pull out the debris. Well I am going to cut matala pads and encircle tge aquablock so I now have a way to remove a filter material of heaviest debris and not get churned up by tge pump. I still have plenty of debris from the main drain making its way to feed the bog.

Reaction score
Country
Canada