Pondless Waterfall, String Algae, & Pump Schedule

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Greetings, all:
I'm new to all this and built my waterfall a year and a half ago. It is a 100 gal. Aquascape system. The pump has been running on a 18 hour on, 6 hour off (overnight) schedule.

Last summer the string algae started appearing and, at first, I thought it looked rather nice and natural. But last week I took a hard look and it was really overpowering everything. I shut the pump down, drained the basin, and began cleaning everything out.

I really want to stay ahead of the curve on this, but have read so many opinions on how and what to do that I'm a bit confused. I've purchased a bottle of API Pond Algaefix Algae Control and, per the instructions, says I should add a tablespoon once a week. I'm also wondering about running the pump on a schedule vs. running the pump 24/7.

So: is my algae prevention plan viable, and should I run the pump 24/7, or on a schedule?

Below is the waterfall after cleaning it out. I'm in zone 8 in Puget Sound...

Many Thanks!

IMG_20230416_110345119.jpg

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
welcome porpoise.gif
@Geewiz
Some here use hydrogen peroxide for this algae removal. I'll let those who do explain it to you. You live somewhere not too far from me as I live up north in Arlington.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
turn off pump and spray on a warm sunny day with peroxide . Since I guess you have no fish you can add salt also . Salt water kills off most algae

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
My neighbor has his pondless water feature on a timer and lights are also on timers and he sets them to go off at midnight and they don't come on until 4 pm . They get home at that time so I guss they want to enjoy it from then on

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):