Sealing flexible tubing for waterfall

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi all,

I'm completely new to pond building. I'm helping a friend build a pond in his back yard. I'm hoping to get advise or suggestions on how to seal the black flex tubing that he's using for the waterfall.

flexible hose pond 1.jpg

We have a stone retaining wall with about a foot of concrete behind the stone that the tubing goes through. Not sure the best way to seal it coming out the bottom to the pump or the top at the basin.

pond 2.jpg

Greatly appreciate any advise.

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
1648402959018.gif
@westcoastfl
I'll leave this one to someone else who might know the answer to your question :)

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hello and welcome! When you say “seal,” do you mean as with an adhesive, or just a way to attach them together? Not too crazy about plastic flex pipe — if it’s the same thing I have used (there may be different types that perform better….?). I haven’t used it in a while, but I kind of recall using barbed fittings and stainless steel hose clamps. Spent a lot of time at The Home Depot, LOL!

Reaction score
Country
United States
What I mean by seal is a way to make waterproof, the flex tubing that comes out of the concrete and stone retaining wall at the bottom of the pond, and the flex tubing that comes out at the top for the waterfall, so it doesn't leak. I would love if it was as simple as using a marine adhesive or something similar. I just wasn't sure if that would do the trick.

I've been searching and haven't found much on creating a waterproof seal using this type of tubing. I mostly see people using pvc bulkhead fittings.

TheFishGuy

( Insert something funny )
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
4b or 5a
Country
United States