Advice on Pump size and skimmer

Reaction score
I am a newbie building my first pond. I have done a lot of research and learned much from this site...thank you.

My pond will be 17x17 feet and 4' deep at the max (some at 2.5 to 3.5 feet) which I estimate around 6500 gallons. It will contain plants and some goldfish but no koi.

I am going to have one 4" bottom drain gravity fed to sieve filter then to pump then to waterfall skippy type bio filter. The waterfall will be 5" max height and 24" max width. I want a nice waterfall more than a "trickle"

but not "roaring rapids" either. The pump will be located no more than 8' from pond and waterfall.

My questions are 1) what size external pump would you recommend for this set up? The 5' height has me confused as to if the "low head" pumps would work or be too weak

2.) as for the skimmer (not yet purchased) it will be on the opposite end of the pond (to maximize wind direction blowing leaves etc, and opposite of water fall) This will be about 17 to 20 feet to pump.
Should I tie this line to the same line as the bottom drain line/pump or do something else with it? What brand would work best for this setup? My original thoughts are one pump with both lines feeding it...but
I guess this also depends on the answer to pump question.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts/advice...I appreciate it!

Justin

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Keep skimmer and BD separate.
The Cetus Sieve will only handle 4000gph so a sequence would work.

fishin4cars

True friends just call me Larkin
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a