Bizarre Heron Death

Reaction score
As most of you know I have been battling the green heron for many months. I assume its the same one. He's so crafty. He would duck under my fishing lines, step on nets around the plants to weigh them down. Nothing was stopping this guy. He knew me from my husband, he knew our schedule. Knew when to go to the pond. I mean this bird was crafty and it paid off for him, he ate several hundred dollars worth of fish.

Suddenly two days ago I noticed he stopped coming. I thought he got fed up with my new partial netting technique. Well my Mom calls me to come over (we live next door to each other), some how this crafty bird got tangled in a chain link fence around her property. How that happened I will never understand. I mean chain link is strung super tight, and I had watched this bird duck under fishing line and weave his way through netting. Somehow he got tangled up in this fence and died.

I'm sad but relieved at the same time. I mean this bird was eating all my fish, which wasn't fair to the fish, but I didn't want to harm him. The netting I used ended up killing other animals and I just ordered new netting. I will still put up the new netting because I'm sure it won't be long before another heron takes up this hunting ground.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United Kingdom
The most bazzar heron death I have heard of was in the book The koi Doctor by Maarten Lammens DVM there is a photo of a Heron that has caught a koi and the koi was too big to be eaten by it and it choked to death ,asad end for your Heron Prascilla I know but look at it on the brighter side it wont hassle your fish anymore (y)

Dave

Reaction score
Yeah, its really weird. My Mom wondered if her dog started chasing the bird and he flew into the fence ... ? Just strange. But yes, I am relieved. It will probably be three weeks before my new net arrives.

JBtheExplorer

Native Gardener
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States