Help & Advice on Inherited large concrete pond project.

Reaction score

So here is my inherited cracked and generally rubbish concrete pond in Staffordshire UK.
Its 20 foot by 10 foot x average 24" deep with 2 deeper holes 1 at each end around 36".

My idea is to use timber sleepers of 8 foot x 10" x 5" to raise a wall around the outside to raise the height by 15 or 20".

Could I lay the timbers 5" down on ground so 10" high and use two deep to give me 20" high or for stability 10" down on ground x 3 high for extra 15" high wall?

I then intend to buy a customised liner made to fit in butyl.

There is also a much smaller feeder pond to the side, should I fill it in or raise it up like the main pond and connect the two? Could this somehow be used as an extra type of filter?

I am in the planning and clearing stage at the moment so all suggestions gratefully received.

I am a relative novice to ponds but good at DIY and the pond will be ornamental with plants and mixed fish, not Koi.
Kind Regards,
Lee

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6 A
Country
United States
Wow, neat looking structure. I think using the structure to hold a liner is a good idea....just be sure to oust underlayment down before the linder, so any cement cracks don't punter your new liner. If I had this pond, I'd raise the smaller one, higher and have it spill into the mail pond.....planting the upper pond with marginal plants etc -------pretty and good filtration!

Reaction score
I couldn't really get a good idea from the pictures, but this looks like a pretty standard first timer DIY deal if they didn't use a liner under the concrete. Lots of people think concrete never cracks and holds water.

Because of the cracks I assume this is not a proper gunite type structure, like a proper concrete swimming pool would be. That would be a good foundation for raising a pond.