Managing Parents' Pond In Minnesota

Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm a student at college, and while I'm home for the summer I'm setting up my parents' new pond. They bought a new house over the winter, and have no experience with ponds. it's about 5-6' across and pretty circular, and only a few feet deep. It hasn't been running yet, so I'm trying to get it figured out. Look forward to to talking to you guys.

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
welcomehu9.gif
TMF89
Hope to get to watch you fix the pond up w/ you posting pix of the progress.........Happy Pondering :nono:

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Reaction score
welcome to the group TMF89...good to have you with us... thats a pond made for goldfish, especially if your new to ponds. if you really want koi, it can be done.. but you may have to thin the herd as they grow, depending on their numbers.. koi are less hardy than goldies. and are considerably more messy..prolific poopers, and plant destroyers, more so as they grow larger. maintainence on the pond will be increased, and partial water changes more frequent.

Reaction score
I definitely don't plan on koi, I have extensive aquarium experience, and I'm all about not putting an over-sized fish in too small of a aquarium/pond. I was thinking just a few shbunku (I'm sure I butchered that lol) or comets. I actually have a "build" thread going in the equipment forum here, please feel free to come give me advice, right now I'm just trying to figure out how to go about draining/cleaning the pond out.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States