New plant,Fish dying :(

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hi,

Newbie here, that might be quite obvious...

We have had our outdoor pond now for about 1.5 years. It is about 2m x 1m, has a filter and water is circulated well around the pond. The goldfish have been going well and strong. But as of 3 weeks ago I've started to lose a fish a week :( I am quite devastated. The only thing we have changed is I purchased a water lilly for it. Week later first fish died. Third today. Could the plant be toxic? It was in a pond at the store that had a few fish in it. But not gold fish.

Please help. I only have 3 left and I am quite fond of them. :(

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
The things everyone will want to know is have you tested the water, what kind of filtration you have, and any airation? What kind of plant is it? I’d say pull it, put it in a bucket of water, test your water, get an airstone going if you don’t have one. If you have pics of dead fish, post them. The others know a lot more, I’m new, but being a night owl here in the US, I’m up late, so I can tell you the info they will need, and some basic advice.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
Since you say you have filtration and good movement, I’d check the fish for any parasites, did you quarantine the plant? Washing it in a dilution of bleach water for about 10 min I think is what’s recommended, I’m sure the others will pitch in. Plants can have fish parasites on them, most of us who don’t know better would just plop it in the pond. But I learned everything gets quarantined, I lost over half my fish from that lesson.

Reaction score
Country
Australia
I removed the plant this afternoon, I dont know what kind of Lilly it is. It has small leaves not the big frog sitting on type ones lol Dead Fish have all looked fine. No spots or funky scales/fins. Eyes clear etc.