Care to weigh in on cutting back during pond cleaning?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7b
Hey, all! I'm going to do a spring cleaning on my pond today. I haven't done anything with it in about four years. I'm not a proponent of frequent pond cleaning but I really do need to do something this year. There is so much settled mulm on every surface, you can't see any rocks or anything.
The question is: should I cut back all the plants really low, to make the cleaning process easier? And will they all come back up as the weather warms? The bacopa is coming back, but there is a lot of icky stuff from the winter underneath. Everything is currently growing. I even have lilies blooming!
I really am a fan of the ecosystem pond and like to leave Mother Nature alone whenever possible. But I also want good water quality for the fish and I know that rotting debris can affect that.
It's not exactly a warm day today. Not yet anyway. I might regret my decision to "get in." :LOL:

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7b
Pond vac ?