Next years project - Advise please

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hi All,

I'm a newbie to this site, and have minimal knowledge about ponds so be gentle :shame:.

I currently live on a small property (5 acre) in the Blue Mountain Sydney Australia. I have been trying my hand at gardening and have really taken a liking to it. I have decided that my next big project is going to be a large pond as I would like to encourage the native wildlife etc. Not really interested in a Koi pond, although they are beautiful so potentially could be convinced to change my mind.

I'm looking a building the pond about 12 meters long by 8 meters wide, and this stage I have picked out an area which I believe most appropriate, as it receives partial shade/sun throughout the day. However the location is close to a deciduous tree. I am planing of using a pond liner, and having this site excavated professionally. I also have a close friend who is a biologist, and is interested in helping me select the correct water plants in an attempt to create a health ecosystem.

I just have a couple of questions and would love any advise:

1. Has anyone used the pond liners for sale on ebay? If so thoughts?

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Pond-Lin...642532?hash=item2ef62d0a64:g:f3oAAOSwKtVWxtHx

2. Pond filter/pump. Should I be considering one and if so what size? I believe the pond volume will be about 48,000L.
Would a solar pump be suitable for this size pond?

3. Is is possible to avoid a powered pond (Pumps etc) by selecting plants appropriately?

4. Should I consider a skimmer being close to the deciduous tree?

5. What depth should I consider? I was initially thinking about 750mm, but is this over kill?

Thanks in advance, I'm sure there will be more questions soon.

:whistle::whistle::whistle:

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States