Thinking about it...

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b-10a
Country
United States
Hey, all.
I'm not a pond guy AT ALL, although I'm a fairly experienced aquarist.
Long story short, my wife thinks it's about time to take down some tanks and make some room around the house. I've been reading about stock tank ponds and was contemplating getting one for the backyard so as to still "be in the fish game."
I am thinking about a Tuff Stuff 110 and maybe a dozen goldfish (Shubbies, Moors, Comets, evenly).
Would this tub suffice? I'm aware of the fish per gallon rule for aquariums but not for "ponds".
Any help would be greatly appreciated...
And met with many more questions!
Let's roll!!!

MoonShadows

The Jam Man
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
welcome-wagon.gif

Welcome DBKWM...Funny user name!
I'm rather new to all this too, so I will defer to someone with the knowledge rather then guess an answer.

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
I'm aware of the fish per gallon rule for aquariums but not for "ponds".

"Fish per gallon" is a completely inaccurate method of determining the sustainable fish population in any venue....cup, bowl, tub, aquarium, pond, etc.!
Are these small fish? Large fish? young fish (still growing)?

Total fish mass (weight) as relates to total surface area available for nitrifying bacteria is the correct method for determining maximum fish load.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Welcome and you need to think about a filter and remember the fish will have babies also .My tank I use for plants and baby fish I give away is one of those
100_7171.JPG

Reaction score
Welcome
I have done a fair share of aquariums and I do not agree with the 1" per gallon rule.